The Castle of THOMAS II
The castle, built since 1248
per Thomas II, was during two centuries the main home of the court, then a
relay of hunting. It is the subject currently of a program of excavations
and important work of restoration.
The Renovated south-eastern Tower
The result of last work completed
Constituted of a church, conventual buildings and of a garden, this unit
contains astonishing testimonys of medieval art. Within this exceptional
framework, are organized, of the exposures of painting, sculpture,
tapestry, craft industry, concerts and of the guided tours.
You will discover external and interior sights with splendid stained
glasses, a crypt, the tombstone of Oddon, a stoup etc...
According to the legend or the tradition, it is into 1030 that Saint-Odilon,
come from the Abbey of Cluny to Burgundy, based a priory on grounds
yielded by the founder of the House of Savoy. The church of the priory
contains Roman vestiges and has an admirable whole of twelve polychrome
sculptures in high relief (XIII2nd century) representing scenes
of the life of Christ. The conventual buildings accommodate today
exposures, concerts and guided tours.
The Garden with the Frenchwoman
Magnificently worked by the gardeners of the commune
Natural space very wild,
still called "Raphaël's Cave", expensive in the heart
of the poet Alphonse de
The Last Inhabitant
The swan, host of these places...
The dragonfly, savage
guardian of this enclave
The famous poem of Alphonse de Lamartine
Isolated on western from the lake, precipice and not very accessible bank,
the place was favorable with the meditation. In the neighborhoods of
1140, the monks Cistercians are installed on western bank of the lake to
the place says "Charia", where already a church was. Since 1184, the Count
Humbert III of Savoy is buried there, beginning of a long continuation
since 43 characters related to the house of Savoy rest in this place. In
XIII century, the Abbey thrives at the point to install several missions
in the East. In XV
century, a long intellectual deterioration starts if it is not moral. In
1792, revolutionary France confiscates, plunders and leaves with the
abandonment the buildings. In 1824, the king of Sardinia, Charles-Felix,
restores the abbey and reinstalls of
Cistercians until 1922.
Today, the heirs to Savoy gave up their patronage and the monastery is
placed under the supervision of the Archbishop of Chambéry. Religious
events opened with all are regularly organized there.
Always built in dominant
position, they profit from a
Being private properties,
these castles cannot
be visited. It any more but does not remain you to admire them and
The Castle of
The Castle of La Serraz
The Chapel of the Cat Mount...
II] - [The Priory]
- [Abbey] - [Castles]
- [The Chapel]